Supply - Total allowable catch

The total allowable catch (TAC) is set for every fishing year (Sept-Aug) by the Minister of Fisheries and Agriculture, based on the recommendation from the Marine Research Institute (MRI). The International Council for the Exploration of the Sea (ICES) also provides advice on many stocks.

Each vessel is allocated a certain share of the total allowable catch (TAC) of the relevant species. The catch limit of each vessel during the fishing year is thus determined on basis of the TAC of the relevant species and the vessel’s share in the total catch.

The TACs (in tons) for the main species for the fishing year 2017-2018:

Species nameTAC, metric tonsLatin name
257,572Gadus morhua
Saithe60,237Pollachius virens
Haddock41,390Melanogrammus aeglefinus
Golden redfish41,390Sebastes marinus
Greenland halibut24,000Reinhardtius hippoglossoides
Deepsea redfish11,786Sebastes mentella
Atlantic wolffish8,540Anarhichas lupus
Ling8,598Molva molva
Tusk4,370Brosme brosme
Plaice7,103Pleuronectes platessa
Herring38,712Clupea harengus
Lemon sole1,304Microstomus kitt
Witch1,116Glyptocephalus cynoglossus
Dab500Limanda limanda

For information in English about the status of fish stocks, please visit the Marine Research Institutes web.  

For further details on TAC, please visit the website of the Directorate of Fisheries.