About the Certification

Requirements for certification

The main requirements for the certification of a fishery are:

  • Adoption and implementation of a structured fisheries management system. The objective is to limit the total annual catch (TAC) from the fish stocks so that catches confirm to levels permitted by the relevant authorities.
  • Fish stock shall not be overfished and this shall be verified through scientific research and assessment by international experts.
  • Implementation of an effective legal and administrative framework for the fishery, with compliance ensured through effective mechanisms for management,monitoring, surveillance, control and enforcement.
  • An assessment of the management measures placed on the applicant fishery will be conducted to ensure that a Precautionary approach in accordance with the FAO Code is adopted.
  • Effects of the fishery on the ecosystem are limited by the application of a specified approach.

The certification confirms:

  • Responsible fisheries management
  • Good treatment of marine resources

The certification process

There is a six stage assessment and certification process on each applicant fishery which follows:

  1. Application & Applicant Review
  2. Validation Report
  3. Assessment Verification/Information Review, Site Visits, Assessment Report against the IRFM standard´s requirements.
  4. External Peer Review
  5. Final Assessment Report
  6. Certification Decision

After certification is confirmed, the fishery enters a programme of annual surveillance assessments to maintain continuing certification, with re-certification required every five years.

Once certification has been confirmed and a Chain of Custody certificate issued the certified applicant can apply for the right to use the Certification Mark and/or statement on packs.  This guarantees to both buyers and consumers of Icelandic seafood products that they have originated from responsibly managed fisheries.